

FRC CHAIR ROLE

1 February 2021

Due to the resignation of Professor Roger Simnett AO as Chair of the AUASB, The Hon Michael Sukkar MP has appointed Bill Edge (Chair FRC) as Acting Chair of the AUASB for the period 1 January 2021 to 31 March 2021 whilst a longer term replacement is being sought.

Bill will step down as Chair of the FRC for that time period. The current Deputy Chair of the FRC, Dr Stein Helgeby has changed positions of employment and has indicated that he will resign from membership of the FRC once a replacement FRC member can be confirmed. Stein has therefore relinquished the role of Deputy Chair of the FRC immediately and Bill has appointed Lawrie Tremaine as ongoing Deputy Chair of the FRC also immediately. Accordingly, the Minister has appointed Lawrie Tremaine as Acting Chair of the FRC for the period 1 January 2021 to 31 March 2021. Bill will remain a member of the FRC in his capacity as Acting Chair AUASB.

Media inquiries:

Tel: +61 2 6263 2300

Email: media@treasury.gov.au